Project: Clean Sweep


The CaptainCon crew has been dabbling with Undercity (UC) for a while. Quite a bit of fun. Cory showed us the Super Deluxe Huge Widower’s Wood  (WW) Trunk with a ton of Gators, Trogs and other swampy things….

Immediately, I knew I should have jumped on that kickstarter….

Being retired and on a fixed income means I have to very careful with the amount of hobby spending. After the summer conventions I decided I could budget one large purchase and I knew the kickstarter trunk would cost more than the original price. Someone was asking twice what he paid for it, I made an offer for a modest profit and he jumped on my offer. With money still in the budget I started checking the large online stores for sales. It took about three weeks to find Undercity & The Black River Irregulars (expansion) within my budget.

Love the game. It feels like miniatures and has some RPG interaction between player. The one thing that bothers me is the Red/Blue Grunts, Yellow Characters and Purple Villain plastic models.

Undercity – 44

  • Milo Boggs
  • Pog & Doorstop
  • Canice Gormleigh
  • Gardek Stonebrow
  • 8 x Crossbow Thugs
  • 10 x Sword Thugs
  • 2 x Goblin Thugs
  • 2 x Rhulic Mercs
  • 2 x Trollkin Scouts
  • 2 x Ogrun Brutes
  • 2 x Heavy Jacks (Freebooters)
  • 8 x Drudge
  • Proto Monstrosity
  • Ringleader
  • Cephalyx (Overlord)
  • Black River Irregulars – 4 models
  • Barl Blackheel
  • Colbie Sterlin
  • Eilish Garrity
  • Bastian Kinnet
  • Widower’s Woods – 43 models
  • Agata
  • Skarg
  • Vaskis
  • Olo
  • 2 x Bog Trog Mist Speakers
  • 10 x Spear Bog Trogs
  • 2 x Swamp Gobbers
  • 8 x Swamp Shamblers
  • 6 x Club Gatormen
  • 6 x Viper Tatzylwurms
  • 2 x Gatorman Bokors
  • Deathless
  • Tatzylwurm
  • Rashedonak, The Witch Doctor
  • Dead Men Walking – 21 models
  • 10 x Risen
  • 6 x Thrall Warriors
  • 2 x Pistol Wraiths
  • 2 x Boneswarms
  • Necromancer
  • Kickstarter Rewards – 29 models
  • Crede & Jagger
  • Lanyssa Ryssyl
  • Gatorman Chieftan
  • Ironback Spitter
  • Bog Trog Chieftan
  • 2 x Feralgeist
  • Swamp Gobber Captain
  • Tatzylwurm Matriarch
  • Blackhide Warstler
  • 6 x Tomahawk Gatormen
  • Gatorman Shaman
  • 10 x Blowgun Bogtrogs
  • Swamp Horror
  • Kickstarter Stretch Goals – 17 models
  • Viktor Pendrake
  • 4 x Swamp Shamblers
  • 4 x Swamp Gobbers
  • 4 x Tatzylwurms
  • 4 x Club Gatormen

158 models…….  Ughhh…

How do you eat and elephant?
One bite at a time.

The trunk is heavy, but it has laser cut trays (you have to glue them together) that holds WW & UC.

I have painted three of the models for a friends so he had the four original characters painted (he did one himself). After seeing those in a game I knew I wanted mine to be fully painted.

First I scrubbed them all with some dish-washing liquid. The a pot of almost boiling water and a bole of ice water to straighten spears and such. It does work.

I black primes ALL of the models. The I dry-brushed white primer on ALL the models. The general plan is to make the models look like the art in the game.

The black & white priming is a new thing for me. I really like it because it makes the details much easier to see.

The priming was done last  November. I did hand brushed primer. It was quite a effort to do them all. Weather force that as the only option.

I worked on four characters first, the ones we have been using.

The bases look like crap because I will do all of the UC bases  at one time.

The general plan is to paint the UC Grunts & Villains first. Then do all of the Characters. Finally jump off the cliff with all the WW Grunts & Villains.

This project was hidden away during the winter. A couple of commissions and conventions took my time.

A couple of weeks ago I pulled out the Sword & Crossbow Thugs. Take the biggest part of that set first.

You probably noticed the fresh cut wood look is gone from my trays. It was easy with a can of waterbased wood stain. Two coats and a little bit of sanding seems to have done the job.

Tracking down and buying plastic sleeves for the cards that get a lot of use in game play. Plastic sandwich bags for some of the tokens and dice helps too.

Well, there is a Monstrosity on my painting table and something is growling. It’s not the dog, is it my stomach?

Till next time,

Just do it.

This entry was posted in Boardgame, CaptainCon, commission, Painting, project, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Project: Clean Sweep

  1. Thomas Bell says:

    Nice to see someone else painting up the Iron kingdoms board game minis! I’m slowly working through them as well, its a bit of a grind… I look forward to seeing how you paint yours!

  2. Pingback: The Wheel Demands it!!!! – spin it again…. | The Monk's Cave

  3. Pingback: Project Clean Sweep: How to eat an Elephant! | The Monk's Cave

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.