A Detour


Over the weekend I finished the StormRaven (flying Brick)…  I forgot to take pictures..

Sunday I spent a lot of hours working on Tree repairs for TempleCon.   A lot of them needed to be attached to washers.  The wires that are the trunk took pliers to bend, then clay to keep them on the washer.  Others just need some clay to decorate the washers.  The clay dried over night.  There are still quite a few that need to be glued to washers (Zap-Goo) and more clay work.  Once those are done, paint the clay and flock the bases.  I know it doesn’t sound like much, but I am taking seventy to one hundred trees…

01 07 13 008

This may seem like a lot, but it is about a third of them..

It is so much fun to sit alone and spend an afternoon putting clay on washers…

MHAI got Magnus almost done to day.  Some shading on his cloak, a few little details, his sword & engine/rifle are all that is left.

Black Cat assassin made some really good progress today.  Taking a Mage Hunter Assassin and making it look like the comic book character, Black Cat is a challenge.

I decided a while ago, I will only do the black cat part above the waist.  The chain weapon is staying to make it a legal conversion.  Smoothing the arms to make them look like muscles was ok, but keep the chain added to the effort.  The neck BlackCatwas the hard part.  Lucky for me, Black Cat has a lot of hair, so I only had to clear out the part in front of her and find her chin.  Green stuff has been mixed and added to her forearms, from her neck down over her…   I added a lot of hair.  I decided to try and make it look like she is spinning with that chain, so most of her hair would be away from her body..  Well, the green stuff is drying tonight.  If it still looks good tomorrow, I will start to texture the hair into it..  With any luck, prime and basecoat her tomorrow..

  • Template, Scenario table and terrain work for TempleCon – Progress..
  • Mage Hunter Assassin – exchange – 20%
  • Magnus the Traitor – exchange – 80%
  • Finish Grace O’Malley
    1. Six Press Gang
    2. Galleon – only dreaming
    3. Seven Sea Dogs – 43% (Ruth’s doing these)
  • Major Katherine Laddermore – gift
  • BFF for LH (best friend forever caster & jack/beast)
  • Troll Cav & Dragoon – 40% – commission
  • Work on Project Rolling –
  • Dark Eldar various – commission – Will it ever end?
  • Project Sisters 
      1. Stalker 60%
      2. Stalker 60%
      3. Machine Wraith 20%
      4. Machine Wraith 20%
  • Another project for me, after Grace O’Malley is Complete……
  • Grey Knight Stormraven – commission

On the road to TempleCon I have hit a detour …

Time for some honesty…  My life is pretty empty.  I don’t have any close friends.  I mean people who I talk to frequently.  People who call and are involved with my life.  Don’t get me wrong, I have friends.  They are pretty casual for the most part.  Everyone is busy and involved in their own lives.

When I joined the Navy, I separated from my family for long periods of time.  In the Navy, it is hard to make close friends.  The people you work with are constantly changing.  Three to four years is the average time at any job, ship or shore duty..  In an average year, about 30% of the people leave.

When I retired from the Navy, I took a job and had to move.  It seems like everyone I meet around here has family close by and friends from high school they still keep in touch with.  It is really hard to get to know anyone.

My job was a huge social thing for me and that is gone.  I am thrilled to be starting a part time job soon.  That may help.

TempleCon is a once a year visit with friends.  Not all of them make the trip every year, but some of them do every year.  My free time isn’t as much as I would like, but I find a way.  I hope we get enough volunteers this year so I am not covering shifts all the time.  That happens when the event is so much fun that nobody wants to give up some time to make it happen…

I’m pretty sure I know why my mood bouncing around.  Lost Hemisphere Blog is going away.  I am a very minor contributor.  The sense of community and belonging must be more important to me than I would have thought.  I keep thinking, one door closes and another one opens.  I just don’t see it right now.

“I’m empty and aching and I don’t know why” – at times like this, why do I go to song lyrics…?

I am not losing any friends.  Things are changing.  Not my idea.  Nothing I can do.  I just don’t want to feel this bad.

Till next time…

Just do it..

This entry was posted in commission, Exchange, Lost Hemisphere, Mini Exchange, Painting, Painting Motivation, Rant, TempleCon, Uncategorized, warmachine. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Detour

  1. doppelbock says:

    Really sorry to hear about anyone being down in the dumps. I have been reasing your blog for a while and was happy to hear about the new job. Sounds like you need to take a year off from running events @ T-con and just enjoy yourself. It will make people appreciate you more when they realize how much you really do for them.

    • lonelymonk says:

      It would be nice to have a ton of free time at TempleCon. I signed up for the job and I will do it… I just hope we get more volunteers so I can get a little sleep, once I know that. I might get a to play a game or two…

      Grace O’Malley will be there. That small unit of Press Gangers is coming along nicely..

      • doppelbock says:

        I wish I could make it out there but it’s not in the cards. Nice job on Grace and her crew, keep posting progress as I enjoy the updates (even if it makes my very slow pace of painting that much more painful).

Leave a Reply

