Grace O’Malley – Update #20 – What a bunch of Turkeys


Have any of you read any forum articles about Fiona the Blacks Theme list?  It get a lot of press as the worst on of all.  Did you read those?  I don’t care.

You might think think that is what the title is about.  Well, you are wrong.

I got up this morning and this bunch was in the back yard.  They travel the neighborhood raiding the bird feeders, making a lot of noise and leaving a mess…  They don’t cooperate much.  I counted sixteen of them.  They never stand still for a group shot.

After all the excitement died down.  I did get to do some painting.

I pulled the bases I needed for the Troll Cav & Dragoon.  So I worked on the bases in while I was waiting for washes to dry on the Buccaneer.

Touchup on the Pig Iron, Armor Wash, highlight with Cold Steel.  A little blue here, a little brass there.  The glow in the face, stacks and fire box took the longest.  Yellow and Orange ink mix to make the glow.

I need a little bit of work on the wrap around the harpoon.  There is some blue on the harpoon, don’t know how that happened..  Oops..

The net and net balls are Thornwood Green with some Rucksack Tan mixed in for highlights. There are some weights on the end of the next that I did with Brassballs.

I have washed most of the model (not the steel) with a Blue ink wash.  The blue parts got two or three coats.  A very light drybrush of Brass on the yellow metal and blue.  Then an Armor wash, thinned down at least 5/1.  Then another light brass.  Then I touchup up the steel.  Finished with the orange ink (50/50 red/yellow), then the yellow ink.  The idea was to make it look a little beat up, needs a paint job, oily, dirty.  Any touchup that are left will take maybe 10 minutes.  I am calling this one done.

Fiona The Black – Done
* Buccaneer – Done
* Freebooter – Done
* 2x Mariner – Done

Doc Killingsworth – done
Kell Bailoch – done
Ragman – done

  • 10 Croe’s Cutthroats – done
  • 10 Sea Dogs, 1 Sea Dog Riflemen, Mr. Walls, Quartermaster
  • 6 Sea Dogs, Sea Dog Riflemen – three done by Ruth
  • 6 Sea Dogs, Sea Dog Riflemen
  • 10 Press Gangers – done
  • 6 Press Gangers

I did the Pig Iron on the Troll Cav & Dragoon too.  There is a lot of area on six mounted models and the dismounted dragoon.  It took a lot of Iron.  I had to run home early to cut the lawn.  Might be the last time this year.  I got lucky.  I finished before the second hand lawn mower died again.  I called the guy I got it from.  He is coming over on Sunday.

Maybe I can get some progress shot of some Troll Cav next time..

The forecast hasn’t changed much.  I may have to be a bachelor for two or three days.  The wife is going to help her mother.  Unless that plan changes, she will be leaving on Sunday and coming back on Wednesday at the soonest.  Sunday afternoon Football party anyone?

Till then,

Just do it..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Grace O’Malley – Update #20 – What a bunch of Turkeys

  1. whitestar333 says:

    I don’t think that Fiona’s theme list is the worst, I just feel like it’s missing something. That’s probably just more thamarite models/units, but otherwise I feel like it’s missing that little something to make it truly awesome. I love Fiona and I’ve had a lot of success with her, but she’s hardly a forgiving warcaster and her theme list doesn’t help that problem much.

    Perhaps if there were a solo which granted Ranked Attacks or Incorporeal in its command range? Or perhaps a thamarite that could make use of corpse tokens/souls? Perhaps also a ‘jack marshall for her theme force? Any of those things would go a long way towards helping her theme force gain both an edge and a niche compared to other theme forces.

Leave a Reply

