Grace O’Malley – update 18 – Not forgotten


It has been a couple of months.  So here is an update.

Fiona The Black – Done
* Buccaneer
* Freebooter – Done
* 2x Mariner – Done

Doc Killingsworth – done
Kell Bailoch – done
Ragman – done

  • 10 Croe’s Cutthroats – done
  • 10 Sea Dogs, 1 Sea Dog Riflemen, Mr. Walls, Quartermaster
  • 6 Sea Dogs, Sea Dog Riflemen – two done
  • 6 Sea Dogs, Sea Dog Riflemen
  • 10 Press Gangers – done
  • 6 Press Gangers

Since last I wrote about this, I got the missing Press Gang and the Buccaneers arm.  No more excuses.  Well, that turtle is a good excuse.

About a week ago, I pulled out ten Press Gang.  I tried to make them look a little dark.  Cultist Press Gang.  No prominent colors just a little dark.  There are three models that are not repeated.  The lass, pretty obvious which one that is.  The one guy with a lantern.  The happy guy with a large sack.  There are three of the one with a block and tackle.  Four of the guy with what looks like a chair leg.

 I painted his pants with Exile Blue stripes then it with Menoth White Highlight.  The blue showed, but it was kind of pail.  I just did a little more down the middle of the stripe, making it look faded and old.

The sack is made up of so many whites and browns. one over the other that I don’t think I could do it again…

I find it fun to do a unit that is all different.  I just grab a pot of paint, put some here, there where ever…

Shoes are black, manacles are steel.  The rest is whatever.  A lot of the pants are light grey, but not all the same.

 The lass was the last one I did.  The shading, face and skin tone bothered me.  I decided on a lighter skin tone on her.  Makeup and powder?  The guy with the lantern.  Isn’t a knit cap dark blue?  It has to be.  The coat, well Sanguine Base is as good a choice as any.  What is that in his pocket.  Looks like a badger to me.

What will I do with Press Gang.. First, keep them working together.  Gang makes them a MAT 7 and P+S 11.  Every little bit helps.  They Advance Deploy, so they are closer, better to run into melee than to fail a charge and get shot.  Shanghai gives you more Press Gang (or Sea Dogs), so Fiona might put Affliction on some Sea Dogs.  If you hit you get a point of damage on anything.  That makes it easier to box things.  Tough is better with Doc around.

As I look at them, maybe one or two of them need a tattoo…

One Buccaneer, 6 sea dogs & a rifleman, 6 press gang and 6 sea dogs & a rifleman (being done by Ruth).  Strange to say this..  It isn’t that much to do.  If I didn’t have to split my time, I think I could knock these out in less than two weeks.  But that’s not happening…

Till next time,

Just do it.

This entry was posted in Mercenary, Painting, Painting Motivation, Pirate, project, Uncategorized, warmachine. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

