Project Grace O’Malley – update 10


Have you ever been working on something and wondered if it was ever going to get done?  You know, a full unit, multiple jacks/beasts, something that just has a lot of area to paint.  I something stop and look at whatever I am working on and wonder if I am ever going finish it.

Being overwhelmed with a project to point of shutting down seem to be very common.  I hear it all the time.  I want to paint, but I look at my stuff and just don’t know where to start.

How do you keep painting or even just get started?

First you need to have time to do it.  Family, job, bills, shopping, movies, playing games, dating, pets and hundreds of other things can all take away from any free time to paint.

You need to find a place where you can paint with as few distractions and interruptions as possible.  That may sound impossible, but being away from you computer is always a good start.

For me, I do over 75% of my painting at the Whiz (Local Game Store).  Without the wife who can dream up hundreds of “honey does” is always better for concentration.

Second, realistic goals.  How much time will you be painting?  If you only have a half hour.  Don’t expect to paint that Throne of Everblight you assembled three months ago.  In a half hour, I would try to add one or two colors to a ten model unit.  Maybe do all the skin on large beast and do one layer of shading.  You have to learn what you can do in the time you have.  If you have a painting table/desk and everything is ready, the half hour here, an hour there is easy to do.  The only thing you may have to do to get ready is get a fresh jar of water.  You don’t need to sit for 12 hours and do a full unit of Cataphract Cetrati with all the flags in one sitting.  A little here and a little there is the way to go.  How do you eat and elephant?  One bite at a time…….

Third thing.  Clean up you painting area.  Put that 80 points of *&%# and 145 points of *@&% away.  Just keep the stuff you working on out.  The rest of it need to be out of site, well kind of…

My desk at home has plastic bins under the desk.  I keep all the unpainted stuff there.  I put painted stuff on the desk as inspiration.  That works for me.  If I have 30 unpainted models in front of me, I get discouraged…  You may notice a clam shell of stuff over on the right side, that is my parts bin…  I think if wandered enough.. I am sure most of you know what you need on a painting desk…   Here is a hint Ottlite 🙂

Now, how about an update?  Here is where I started today…

The legs, well you saw them in the last update…

Well, it was pretty simple today.  I finished the base-coat of the bodies and glued those to the legs.  Then I did the Brass Balls & Rucksack Tan mix and did a drybrush on the blue and Bronze.  Then I made a Blue ink Wash.   I think the ink was stronger than last time.

I need to retouch the Iron parts.  There is a lot of touch up and highlights left to do.

I started the cannons as all bronze, but then I was looking at the bands around them and the handle.   I added some Pig Iron and I like the contrast.  So the bands, handle and breach in the back are Iron.

I am going to mix some Brass Balls and Molten Bronze and try that as some metal highlight.  A little for a test..  Not sure…

Well, tomorrow is getting some stuff ready for the New England Team Tournament.  Biggest one so far.  Sixteen teams of three on Saturday, this should be a lot of fun….

I hope to get some more done tomorrow, but no promises.  Some touch ups and attach the arms.  Then some details and they are done…

Have you even noticed that you can work on something and it will seem like you are never going to finish.   Then all of a sudden, it just all comes together and you are done.  It is a nice feeling.

Just do it..

This entry was posted in Mercenary, Painting, pinning, Pirate, project, Rant, Uncategorized, warmachine. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

