Project Sisters – Update #4 – Pretty well done…


Well, I have neglected on part of the Coven list…  I have been a little intimidated buy the size, number of parts and detail B.U.F…..   Big Ugly Fu…r…..

I looked at a lot of different ways to paint him, forums, cool mini and such…

I finally got started.  I decided to build and paint him in stages.

Assemble and paint the legs/hips.

Add the back bone, head and smoke stacks.

Add the shoulders.

Do his chest.

His carapace and his arms are last….

Once again I have a second hand model from my big box-o-Cryx.  Pretty easy to strip, but removing the arms was close to DYNAMITE.  The wad of glue holding those balls in was huge…  By now you have probably figured I am doing the Deathjack.  Don’t leave home without it…

So you have the before.

I wanted a dark model, but not Black.  I plan on a lot of Green Glow too.  I reviewed the fluff in the NQ and decided to make some of him bone.  Chicken jacks can be bone, why not BUF…

So his toes, fingers and spine will be bone…  If I don’t want black, what?  I thought about Brown.  To many Poo jokes.  Dark Dark Green, I didn’t think it would work with the green glow.  Dark Blue?  Played with photoshop a little (thanks spud) and I liked it.  So the armor will be Coal Black.

I assembled the legs, feet and hips.  I like a mix of metals, so the dark steel and dark brass that I have used before got used again.

So I attached the body and head, the spine is bone similar to FoW Cryx formula.  I did a bunch of green glow around the spine, like his engine was glowing from inside out.  I did some brass and steel on the rods connecting to his head.  The head has a lot of Blighted Gold, Armor wash and Brass Balls highlights.  Green glow in the eyes slot on the head too..

I attached the smoke stacks, did them in Blighted Gold and Pig Iron.  Washed all the little lines with a thin Menoth White Highlight.  Then I added the green glow and drybrushed it with Brass Balls..

Time to add a soul.  Iosian Green Base, Wyrm Green heavy drybrush, Sulpuric Yellow for a light dry brush..  Pretty easy with good results I think…  This goes in the middle of his chest under the head and neck…  I did some steel and brass highlight on the body before I added the soul and the two claws that are part of his chest reaching for it..  I did some green glow around the soul and claws too…

I added the shoulders and carapace next.  They got a base coat of Coal Black.  The carapace edge is Blighted gold with a dark wash and brash balls.  The skulls on the shoulders are bone.  A lot skulls have glowing eyes.. I looked at the three spikes and they have a lot of detail.  So I make them the same way I did the carapace edge, but I washed them with Menoth White highlight and added some green glow…

The body was positioned to be bending over like it was after something on the ground.  His hands are not up in the air, they are reaching for something.  I pinned all the hand spikes and the two part hands are pinned to the shoulder posts…  The hand armor is Coal Black like the shoulders and legs..  I highlighted all of them with some Coal black and Menoth White Highlight.

As I sit here, he is above my monitor looming over me…

The Coven theme gives a Hell Jack advance deploy for each Warwitch Siren in the army.  So I did two of them.

Nothing special, Cryx Bane Base & Cryx Bane Highlights, brass, steel and a little pail flesh..

These two will drive you crazy…

I also always thought that a lady like to have a servant.  Well they can use a Skarlock Thrall.  Bone, flesh, some brass, green like the ghost, green glow and some browns…

The Coven wasn’t my first painted Cryx caster.  I did Mortenebra over a year ago.  I had plans to do here theme list.  My wife’s robe snagged Morti and her pal.  They fell on the floor and got stepped on.  I put them away in the box of broken dreams..  I order and got replacement parts, but never fixed her….  Broken heart I guess.

Well, with a bunch of jacks and two warwitch sirens painted and ready to go, I thought of my old plan.   I got some more Dragon Forge bases and as you can see, broken arms and broken legs…  After some touchup, new arms and new legs they seem pretty much ready to go…

I had  to add some stuff just for Mortenebra.  Every girl like a gift to make them feel special…

Do these two make you feel special…    Something for Morti to use in Flank Scenarios…  those two are ugly enough to curdle milk…

Just last week, I figure I was still missing something..  The coven has 9 focus, a good spell list.  Why not an Arch Node…

So I did one of each metal chicken…

That is Project Sisters…  at least until I decide to do Skarre…   If my paint and swap partner ever mails the her…  I sent mine in time for Christmas 2009…..  Maybe some day…

Till next time,

Just do it…

This entry was posted in Clash of Titans, Cryx, Dragon Forge Base, Painting, pinning, project, TempleCon, Uncategorized, warmachine. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

