Care and feeding of a wet pallet.


I first started with a home made wet pallet.

http://forums.brushthralls.com/index.php?showtopic=4806&hl=pallet

The link is to the tutorial and it is cheap and an easy way to see if you like this way to use your paint.

The plus side of a wet pallet.  For me it is several things.  First, I can set up the colors I want, get interrupted, close the pallet, come back an hour later and the paint is still ready to go.  Otherwise, it would have dried out.   I can easily have 8 -> 10 -> 12 colors on the pallet.  I have had times where I have had paint on the pallet for days and it is still good.

A tip, add a drop of P3 mix medium to a dry spot on the pallet,  you can probably still use it.

How to do it.

I now use a P3 Pallet (you can do the same thing with any plastic snap case).

I prefer to use a double layer of papertowel on top of the sponge.  I cut it to fit a little large, tuck it in around the edges.  The dark spots on the edge is from getting paint to close to the edge.

I am still using the P3 paper, but when it runs out you can use tracing paper, parchment paper or wax paper.  I have used parchment paper, you get a roll in the backing section of a supermarket.   $3-$4 for a 30 foot roll that will last for years of painting.

I have found that it works better to wet the paper before you put it on the pallet.  I just dunk it into the water jar.  I have to run it over and dunk both halves.  Don’t worry about wrinkling it, it smooths out easily.

Once the paper is wet, place it on the pallet.  I use a toothpick or craft stick to smooth out the paper.  The P3 is not as wide as the pallet, leaving about a half inch of papertowel uncovered on both sides.  More on that later.


I like to line up the back of the paper with the back of the pallet.  That leaves a little bit I can tuck into the front edge with a toothpick.  This keeps the paper from rolling up if it gets a little dry.

Usually the paper is a little wet after you put in on.   I usually wait 5 minutes before putting paint on the paper.  If you don’t it will run a little.

Like this.

I keep the water level 1/2 -> 3/4 of the way up the sponge.  I take a toothpick and move the corner to look.  To add water, I have a bottle.

It is so easy to put a little water on edge and it evens itself out.

Now that the paper is ready, put the paint on it.  Eye dropper bottle are good.  I use P3, so a toothpick or piece of pinning wire works fine.

Here is Khardor Red Highlight – Mix of the two and Khador Red base.  You can mix it the two with a brush or a toothpick (don’t punch a hole in the paper).

It is always good to have a paper towel handy for cleaning your brushes.

I use the towel to remove excess paint from the brush to make sure I put the paint in thin layers.

Need another color, add a spot.

Give it a try, it is easier than you think….

This entry was posted in Painting, project, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Care and feeding of a wet pallet.

  1. Pingback: NC Gunbunnies Blog » NC Gunbunnies Top Ten #5

Leave a Reply

